Keep ‘Em Separated

Keep ‘Em Separated

 

Weights and HIIT

 

Conventional training wisdom says that a bout of HIIT cardio immediately following a lifting session should have no adverse effects on the size and strength gains from that lifting session. Not so fast.

 

When I do HIIT workouts after lifting I do not experience significant increases in 1RM (One Rep Max) strengths on curls or increased biceps size (cross sectional areas), but when I skip HIIT after working out, I get am stronger and get bigger.

 

So should I not be combining lifting and HIIT sessions? I’m not sure, but it is something worth considering if I am looking to get bigger and stronger as humanly possible. If well-rounded fitness is the main objective, doing both resistance training and HIIT in the same workout should also be fine.pullup2.JPG

Leave a Reply

