10 Size Secrets – Secret 10

10 Size Secrets – Secret 10

 

Isolate to Stimulate

I have always struggled to build enough arm mass to compensate for my shoulders, which tend to overpower my arms. Even after working up weight on straight bar curls and dumbbell curls, my arms still lagged behind. So I tried a difference approach and isolated the biceps by taking the shoulders out of the movement and increasing the rep range to put more in the muscle. When performing standing barbell curls, the bar no longer curls away from my body. Instead, I pull the elbows back and the bar travels straight up my body, perpendicular to the floor. This eliminated the shoulders from the movement and created a better squeeze. Dumbbell curls have been changed to seated and performed the same way – elbows back and the weight traveling straight up instead of out in front of me. I also added the one arm machine preacher curl to isolate the biceps and squeeze each contraction without rocking the weight. This workout is sure to add size to your arms.

Sample Biceps Workout:

  • Standing Barbell Curl – 4 sets of 20 reps
  • Seated Dumbbell Curl – 4 sets of 20 reps
  • One Arm Preacher Curl – 4 sets of 20 reps

Barbell-Curl One_Arm_Dumbbell_Preacher_Curl Seated_Dumbbell_Curl

Leave a Reply

