10 Size Secrets – Secret 2

10 Size Secrets – Secret 2

 

Super Slow Reps

When something does not work out or I hit a plateau in my training, I always implement very, very slow reps. I am talking super slow, as in 5 to 10 seconds up and 5 to 10 seconds down on every rep using 30 to 50 percent of the weight I normally use. I don’t limit this for just one exercise in my workout; I use it for every exercise. It takes you much longer to get through the set, but I guarantee one set will make up for 5 to 6 regular sets. You can do slow sets for a month or you can do them for a week. Doing your reps very slowly is much more intense, creates more of a burn and the chance of injury while doing it is pretty much zero. And even though you are going a lot lighter, it feels heavier. Because you are going slowly, you can make one plate feel like it is four. I guarantee if you try this, you will walk away with the best pump you ever had.

Sample Triceps Workout:

  • Pushdown – 3 to 4 sets of 3 to 6 reps
  • Lying Extensions – 3 to 4 sets of 3 to 6 reps
  • One Arm Reverse Grip Pushdown – 3 to 4 sets of 3 to 6 reps

lying-dumbbell-triceps-extensions2 one-arm-tricep-extension-2 triceps-pushdown-with-rope-2

2 responses to “10 Size Secrets – Secret 2

  1. I didn’t know that slowing down increases intensity. It makes sense because you are contracting muscles for longer. That is a smart way to get more out of your workout, I am going to try that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

