Farmers Market Green Lentil Salad

Grren Lentil Salad

As a Midwesterner, I never ate lentils. It was not until I moved to the East Coast, Boston that I started to eat them. It all started when I would visit Ethiopian restaurants in Central Square that I fell n love with them. Now that I am a New Yorker, where there is a farmers market across from my office in Brooklyn, I buy lentils and cook them at my liking. Lentils are high in calcium and magnesium and good for bone health.

1 cup French green lentils

3 cups of white corn

2 cups chopped heirloom tomatoes

¾ cup chopped red onions

2 cups chopped fresh baby spinach

¼ cup fresh squeezed lemon juice

¼ cup extra virgin olive oil

salt and fresh ground black pepper

  1. In a large saucepan, bring lentils and 5 cups of water to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 15-20 minutes, or until just tender and still firm. Rinse well under running cold water, and set aside. (Lentils can also be cooked in advance and refrigerated).
  2. Combine lentils with remaining ingredients in a large bowl, and toss gently to combine. Serve as a side dish with grilled fish, chicken, or on top of a heap bed of crispy lettuce.

 

Leave a Reply

